Sunday, November 15, 2009

Barnette Law Offices, LLC – Tennessee Drug Offense Lawyers

Below are a some of the offenses Barnette Law Offices, LLC represents clients against:

Simple Possession. A first time offense of simple possession of a controlled substance carries a sentence of no more than a year and a $2,500 fine. Simple possession in Tennessee typically applies when you have been busted with only a small amount of a controlled substance, such as marijuana or LSD.

Felony Drug Possession. Felony drug possession is a more serious crime and penalties vary depending on the type and amount of the controlled substance in your possession. For example, if you were found to possess between one-half ounce and ten pounds of marijuana, you could be charged with a Class E felony, which carries between a 1 and 6 year prison sentence and/or a $3,000 fine.

Drug Paraphernalia. Possession of drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor if the state can prove that you intended you use it to pack, store, contain or conceal a controlled substance. Under Tennessee law, "drug paraphernalia" means all equipment, products and materials of any kind that are used, or intended for use in storing, concealing, injecting, inhaling or otherwise introducing into the human body, a controlled substance.

If you’ve been charged with any of the above charges in Tennessee, contact us at 615-585-2245 or Barnette Law Offices, LLC.


No comments:

Post a Comment